Part 3: The Tocharian, Chapter 29: Polynesia

Part 3: The Tocharian, Chapter 29: Polynesia
Posted November 26, 2009

The trilithon of Ha’amonga, the island of Tongatapu, the Representation of the classic Polynesian megalithic …


Book Two: The peoples

Part 3: The Tocharian

Chapter 29: Polynesia


The area of Polynesia is bounded approximately by a triangle drawn from Hawaii to New Zealand, then to Easter Island and back to Hawaii The region thus includes Polynesia Samoa, Wallis and Futuna, Cook Islands, Tonga, the islands of French Polynesia, Tuvalu and some islands of the Republic of Kiribati

The Samoa

Samoa, previously named: Archipelago browsers include the two large islands of Upolu and Savai’i and seven small islands, 5 of which are uninhabited Three quarters of the population live on the island of Upolu, where the capital Apia Samoa’s export of copra, cocoa, banana and coffee After agriculture, tourism is the second largest country an expanding sector, accounting for 25% of GDP, with 88,000 tourists in 2001. Samoa were colonized by Austronesians around 1000 BC The Dutchman Jacob Roggeveen discovered the archipelago in 1722 In 1768, French explorer Louis-Antoine de Bougainville named the archipelago: the islands of the Navigator In 1899, Samoa was divided into two parts: Western Samoa, which became part of the German New Guinea, Samoa and East, which came under U.S. control In 1914, New Zealand annexed Western Samoa Western Samoa became independent on 1 January 1962

Wallis and Futuna

The islands of Wallis and Futuna, capital Mata-Utu, is composed of three main islands: Wallis, Futuna and Alofi The Dutchman Willem Schouten and Jacob Le Maire approached the island of Futuna in 1616 Wallis was called Uvea for thousands of years by its people before the Europeans renamed The kingdoms of Uvea to Wallis, Alo and Futuna Sigave signed a protectorate treaty with France in 1887 The islands became an overseas territory in 1961 after referendum

The Cook Islands

The archipelago consists of 15 main islands The capital is located in Avarua Rarotonga Spanish navigators and Portuguese Alvaro de Mendana Pedros Quiros discovered the northern islands of the archipelago in 1600 The name of the Cook Islands was first assigned to the southern part of the archipelago by Adam Johann von Krusenstern, in his expedition of 1804 In 1888 the islands became a British protectorate On October 7, 1900 it was annexed by New Zealand In 1960 New Zealand gave the Cook Islands associated with independent status: self-government

The Kingdom of Tonga

Tonga, formerly known as Friendly Islands, consist mainly of three archipelagos, for about 170 islands: The island of Tongatapu in the south, the archipelago of Ha’pai north, and the islands of Vava’u Tonga has a total area of approximately 748 km ² and the kingdom’s capital Nuku’alofa is It is considered that the Tonga islands are inhabited by Austronesian since the thirteenth century BC to. AD, but tradition says that the Kingdom of Tonga have been occupied in prehistoric times January 21, 1643, Abel Tasman discovered Tongatapu and visited some of the islands In 1875 the islands became a constitutional monarchy and a British protectorate in 1900 The archipelago became independent in 1970 and became a member of the Commonwealth

The French Polynesia

French Polynesia, includes five archipelagos: the Society Islands, with the Windward Islands and the islands under-the-wind, and the capital: Tahiti, the Tuamotu Archipelago, the Gambier Islands, the archipelago of Southern and the Marquesas In Tahiti and other islands of the wind, the lunar tide is almost zero except at the beginning of austral, the full moon of All Saints The beaches are accessible at all times, but the deep-water ports in becoming inaccessible The culture of pearls in shallow waters is facilitated through against the purity of the waters through which a small current ocean French Polynesia had 259,706 inhabitants in 2007 The economy is based on tourism and pearl farming It was inhabited by Austronesian since at least 1500 BC. AD In 1521, the Portuguese Ferdinand Magellan discovers Puka Puka in the Tuamotu In 1756, Charles Brush called islands of Polynesia Southern From 1743 and until 1880, the royal family Pomare Polynesia government In 1842, French Polynesia became a French protectorate In 1880, French Polynesia became a French Overseas Territory France has conducted 46 atmospheric nuclear tests in Polynesia between 1966 and 1974, and over 150 underground tests then

The Tuvalu

The archipelago of Tuvalu comprises nine coral atolls, of which eight are inhabited Vaiaku, the capital, on the atoll of Funafuti is the islet of Fongafale which is 12 km long, is home to half the population of the kingdom of 2.6 km2 After the Vatican, this is the least populated independent country in the world It is also a condition for relief, rising sea levels likely to engulf … The Tuvalu were inhabited before the first millennium BC. BC by Austronesian populations In 1568, Spanish Alvaro de Mendana y Neyra, is the European prtemier to disembark In 1892 the islands became a British protectorate of Ellice Islands In 1916, they became the colony of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands In 1978, they become independent as a dominion The head of state is the British Queen, Tuvalu is a kingdom, with Elizabeth II as king of Tuvalu


The Republic of Kiribati comprises the islands of the Gilbert Islands and Banaba Island, which are in Micronesia, islands and archipelagos of Phoenix and Line Islands, which are in Polynesia The Kiribati have been inhabited for more than two thousand years by Austronesian Kiribati, were first called Gilbert Islands by Admiral Adam Johann Krusenstern in 1820 In 1892, the Gilbert Islands became protectorate of the United Kingdom In 1916 they became a British colony The Republic of Kiribati became independent July 12, 1979 The archipelagos are half on each side of the meridian of the date change, the 180 °, but are connected on the same date In Kiribati and are therefore the first to enter a new day …


Photo of a missionary in 1890 the Tokelau Islands Photo Colonization was a disaster for all people “discovered” by European settlers in the 17th century, worldwide It was originally the global slave trade that has made the fortune of almost all commercial ports in Europe And this disaster also applies to people of the islands of Oceania People lived happy and free in their earthly paradise Technology and knowledge of these people and their customs and mythologies have amazed the first discoverers But came the missionaries, traders and whalers … Indigenous civilizations were quickly wiped Christianity intolerant and inquisitorial, European diseases and guns have destroyed these peoples Many frisèrent extinction: the Enata, Marquesan, were about 200,000 before Europeans arrived, they were more than 2,000 in the early twentieth century … A Rapa Nui, Easter Island, a Peruvian ship captured in 1862 half the population of which the king and all the notables, to work in the guano mines Four came back, with European diseases … Part of the Pacific American, whose Marshall Islands where we held the first H-bomb testing, from 1946, to evaluate its effects on the inhabitants and destroyed the Eniwetok Atoll …



money is the human predator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s